Child Safety Seat Law

Child Safety Seat Requirements

Child's Age/Weight/HeightType of SeatLocation of Seat
0 to 1 year20 pounds or lessRear-facing Rear seat if available
1 year to 3 yearsGreater than 20 poundsForward facing Rear seat if available
4 years to 8 yearsLess than 5 feet tall, Belt-positioning booster seatRear seat if available
9 years to 12 years greater than 5 feet tallSeat belt systemRear seat recommended
13 years to 17 yearsMust be beltedN/A

Safety Information

  • Any child who has special needs and cannot be safely transported in a conventional child restraint requires a doctor's prescription for a specially modified seat.
  • Booster seats require both lap and shoulder belts!
  • Never place an infant in front of an airbag!
  • Proper occupant protection for children under age 16 is the responsibility of the parent, if present. Otherwise, the driver is accountable for these passengers.
  • Seats must meet Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards and be used according to the child safety restraint system and vehicle manufacturer's instructions.

Why Booster Seats?

Young children who have outgrown their car seats are still too small for an adult lap and shoulder belt. When these young children wear adult seat belts they can suffer serious injuries to the head, neck, spinal cord, and abdomen. All it takes is a boost to put them in the proper position for the adult lap/shoulder belt to protect them!

Tennessee Kids Get A Boost

Booster Seat 5-Step Test

  1. Does the child sit all the way back against the auto seat?
  2. Do the child's knees bend comfortably at the edge of the auto seat?
  3. Does the belt cross the shoulder between the neck and arm?
  4. Is the lap belt as low as possible, touching the thighs?
  5. Can the child stay seated like this for the whole trip?

If you answered No to any of these questions, your child needs a booster seat to ride safely in the car.

Additional Information

For more information, call: 1-800-BELTS or visit the Tennessee Traffic Safety website. The Lawrenceburg Police Department has certified Child Safety Seat Technicians who can help with questions regarding the proper use of child safety seats. If you need assistance, please call 931-762-2276.